Mrs. Dunn's Class
Second Grade
Lincoln Elementary School
Madera, California


Every year students in California have the opportunity to vote on books that will receive a prestigious award, The California Young Reader Medal Award. Our class voted on five nominated books in the Primary Picture Book Category after listening to each story. The books nominated this year were: Cook-a-Doodle-Doo, written by Janet Stevens; Hooway for Wodney Wat, written by Helen Lester; Horace & Morris but Mostly Dolores, written by James Howe; Mr. Tanan's Ties,written by Mary Ann Cocca-Leffler; and Wolf!, written by Becky Bloom. After voting, students created a diorama based on their favorite book.


1.    Which book received the most votes?

Cook-A-Doodle-Doo Hooway for Wodney Wat Wolf!


2.   How many votes did the book that received the most votes receive?

eleven seven two


3.   How many more students voted for Mr. Tanen's Ties than Cook-A-Doodle-Doo ?

  seven two five